National Safety Committee

Committee membership

  • Rory Bracken (Chair), Fulton Hogan
  • Anthony Simmons, TMAA/Traffic Diversions Group
  • Bill Lansbury, TMR Queensland
  • Cameron Andrew, BildGroup
  • Howard Jeffery-Wright, Downer
  • James Pennings, ALTUS Traffic
  • Kylie Fink, Ventia
  • Leigh Sporle, Dept of Transport VIC
  • Emma Stuart, Viva Energy
  • Peter Carbone, Boral
  • Shan Ruprai, COLAS
  • Shane Jackson, Transurban
  • Marcus Forbes, Boral
  • Stuart Torpy, Wirtgen
  • Mark Piorkowski, AfPA – Convenor

The Committee exists to

  • assist continuous improvement across the flexible pavements industry in WHS practices and performance towards international best practice,
  • facilitate wide and rapid exchange of learning points, technology and skills across the industry,
  • elevate public recognition of and community commitment towards elimination of the unique exposures to work site safety risks and hazards that bituminous surfacing and maintenance employees face daily in their road worker roles,
  • encourage harmonisation of procedures and processes across state boundaries and
  • publicly demonstrate the improvements through portrayal of relevant measured performance indicators.

The function of the Committee is advisory to the Board and Members of the Association. The Committee does not hold executive capacity within the Association.

The Committee is chaired by an executive of a member organisation nominated by the AfPA Board or a member of the AfPA Board nominated from within their midst and supported by a nominated AfPA executive in the role of Convenor to the Committee.

Strategic Objectives 

As part of the AfPA strategic plan the strategic objective for health and safety is focused on:

Enabling and supporting industry to continuously improve the health and safety of our people and communities we serve. 

The strategies for the development of this goal as outlined in the plan are:-


  • Publish on the AAPA website and promote the facts relating to bitumen and working safely within the industry.
  • Support members in understanding and implementing management processes to address any long-term worker related ill-health risks arising from air pollution and particulates produced at the point of manufacture through the supply chain to construction sites.
  • Support the industry with any national transition to higher health regulatory requirements.
  • Promote and provide links that support members with mental health:
    • Raise awareness
    • Seek education partners on preventative education and crisis help
    • Partner with health and safety providers that can provide national support service to AfPA members, through discounted rates


  • Establish national statistics on roadworker safety performance, with a KPI for continuous improvement annually – demonstrating a shift towards a zero harm future.
  • Trial and seek adoption of technology solutions that enhance safety of road workers and the public.
  • Advocate to key regulatory bodies nationally, the separation of road users and road workers as the first option on worksites, wherever possible.
  • AfPA establish a forum for all members to receive key industry safety alerts and learnings.
  • AfPA to continue to develop competency based safety training courses for the use of the industry as guided by the National Health and Safety Committee.
  • Benchmark health and safety solutions with international best practice.
  • Operational risks to continue to be focused on in this Strategy:
    • managing underground services;
    • working in close proximity to traffic flows;
    • potential for worker / equipment plant interaction;
    • working safely with bitumen.

Click HERE to view Health & Safety resources